Every year the Mississippi Historical Society awards prizes for outstanding work in interpreting, teaching, and preserving Mississippi history.

The MHS Lifetime Achievement Award, formerly the Dunbar Rowland Award, is given in recognition of lifelong contributions to the study and interpretation of Mississippi history.

The MHS Book of the Year Award, formerly the McLemore Prize, which carries with it a $700 stipend, is given for the best book on a subject related to Mississippi history or biography published the previous year.  The award winner is also invited to speak at the annual meeting of the Mississippi Historical Society in March, which carries an additional $300 payment.

The MHS Teacher of the Year Award, formerly the John K. Bettersworth Award, is given annually to an outstanding teacher of middle or high school history in Mississippi. The winning teacher receives a $300 cash award and is invited as the society’s guest to its annual meeting.

The MHS Outstanding Local Historical Society Award, formerly the Frank E. Everett Jr. Award, is given annually as merited to a local historical organization that, as a member of the Federation of Mississippi Historical Societies, has made an outstanding contribution to the preservation and interpretation of local history. The winning society receives a $300 cash award.

The MHS Excellence in History Award, which combines the former Elbert R. Hilliard Oral History Award and Atkinson Award, is given annually in recognition of an outstanding paper, publication, documentary, or project contributing to the knowledge of Mississippi history.  It carries with it a $300 cash award.

The Most Outstanding Dissertation Award and the Most Outstanding Thesis Award are presented biennially for a doctoral dissertation and master’s thesis, respectively, on a topic in Mississippi history or biography completed within the previous two years.

The Journal of Mississippi History Article of the Year Award is presented for the best article in the Journal of Mississippi History from an issue in the previous year. The author receives a $200 cash award and is invited as the society’s guest to its annual meeting.

Awards of Merit are presented annually to individuals or organizations for their outstanding archival, museum, or media interpretation work.