2023 Annual Meeting Agenda

Mississippi Historical Society
March 2-3, 2023
Two Mississippi Museums - Jackson

Thursday, March 2

All sessions are at the Two Mississippi Museums at 222 North Street in Jackson. If you need a hotel room, call the Old Capitol Inn at 601-359-9000 and specify the rate of $135 per night plus tax.

10:30 a.m.  Registration

11:00 a.m.  Annual Business Meeting 

12:00 p.m.  Opening Session and Luncheon 

  • Presiding: Daphne Chamberlain, President, Mississippi Historical Society
  • Welcome: Katie Blount, Director, Mississippi Department of Archives and History
  • Daphne Chamberlain in conversation with Reena Evers-Everette about the 60th anniversary of the assassination of Medgar Evers

2:30 p.m.  Session I  Jackson State University and the HBCU History and Culture Access Consortium

  • Moderator: Garrad Lee, Margaret Walker Center, Jackson State University
  • Angela Stewart, Margaret Walker Center, Jackson State University
  • Chioma Ajuonuma, Margaret Walker Center, Jackson State University
  • Jaylen McDaniels, Margaret Walker Center, Jackson State University
  • Jeremy McDuffey, Margaret Walker Center, Jackson State University
  • Carolyne Rutto, Margaret Walker Center, Jackson State University

3:45 p.m.  Break

4:00 p.m.  Session II – Women in Mississippi History

  • Moderator: DeeDee Baldwin, Mississippi State University
  • Dr. Jane Ellen McAllister, A Columbia University Teachers College Hero - Bettye Gardner, professor emerita, Coppin State University, and David Rae Morris, photographer and filmmaker 
  • Outstanding Black Women of Yalobusha County - Dottie Quaye Chapman Reed, columnist, North Mississippi Herald
  • Commemorating Anne Moody - Roscoe Barnes, Cultural Heritage & Tourism Manager, Visit Natchez

5:30 p.m.  President's Happy Hour

6:30 p.m.  Banquet 

  • Presiding: William J. Bowlin, Vice President, Mississippi Historical Society
  • Book of the Year Award Presentation: Amanda Clay Powers, Professor and Dean of Library Services, Mississippi University for Women
  • Award Winner: Evan Howard Ashford, State University of New York Oneonta, Mississippi Zion: The Struggle for Liberation in Attala County, 1865–1915

Friday, March 3

9:00 a.m.  Session III  Environmental History in Mississippi 

  • Through the Wilderness: Andrew Jackson’s Military Road and the Settlement of America’s Southern Frontier - Dustin Mitchell Wren, social studies teacher, Itawamba Agricultural High School
  • “This Land of Sickness and Death”: Reexamining the Siege of Corinth Using the Lens of Environmental History - Christopher T. Slocombe, assistant director of admissions, Creighton University
  • Jamie Whitten and the World: The Agrochemical Mississippi Delta and its Global Entanglements - Maaarten Zwiers, senior lecturer, University of Groningen
  • Sus Scrofa: Feral Hogs as Prizes and Pests in Mississippi, 1970-2010 - Charles E. Jones, graduate assistant in history, Mississippi State University

10:30 a.m.  Break

10:45 a.m.  Session IV – Twentieth Century Mississippi History 

  • The Threefoot Building and 20th Century Meridian - Kasey Mosley, graduate student in history, Mississippi State University
  • Time Bomb in a River: Oxford, Natchez, and Two Million Pounds of Liquid Chlorine - Micah Reuber, associate professor of history, Mississippi Valley State University
  • Rail of Wrath: Racial Violence Along the Mobile & Ohio Railroad from 1875 to 1940 - Michael Tobin, Crop Health Laboratories, Baltimore, MD
  • “A Complete Revolution”: Documenting Prison Reform and Civil Rights Papers of Judge William C. Keady - Kate Gregory, director, Mississippi Political Collections, Mississippi State University

12:30 p.m.  Awards Luncheon 

  • Presiding: Daphne Chamberlain, President, Mississippi Historical Society
  • Presentation of Awards
    • Lifetime Achievement
    • Awards of Merit
    • Excellence in History
    • Outstanding Local Historical Society
    • Teacher of the Year
  • Introduction of President-elect and passing of the gavel

2:30 p.m.  Historic Tours

  • Two Mississippi Museums
  • Eudora Welty House & Garden
  • Medgar and Myrlie Evers Home National Monument
  • COFO Building
  • Old Capitol Museum