2021 Annual Meeting

Mississippi Historical Society

Friday, March 5, 2021
Annual Meeting
All sessions are online

Friday, March 5

9:00 a.m.         Board Meeting

9:30 a.m.        Business Meeting

10:30 a.m.        Welcome: Marshall Bennett, president, Mississippi Historical Society

10:45 a.m.       Session 1 Mississippi as Architectural Trendsetter

  • Robert Edgar Bost: Natchez’s Most Prolific Twentieth-Century Architect and Builder  - Chase Klugh, Historic Natchez Foundation
  • Mississippi Midwestern State Capitol Jennifer V. O. Baughn, Mississippi Department of Archives and History
  • Monument and Memory: The Illinois Memorial at the Vicksburg National Military Park - Bill Gatlin, Independent Scholar
  • ‘His finest and purest thinking’: The Mississippi Retreats of Louis Sullivan - Jeff Rosenberg, Mississippi Department of Marine Resources

12:15 p.m.               Plenary Session with Book of the Year Author

                        Presiding:  Marshall Bennett
                        Introduction: Chuck Westmoreland, Delta State University
                        Winning Author: Nancy Bristow, Steeped in the Blood of Racism: Black Power, Law and Order, and the 1970 Shootings at Jackson State College

 1:30 p.m.         Session 2Student Activism in the Civil Rights Movement

  • The Civil Rights Movement in Jackson Mississippi: Newspapers Frames of Black Protest from 1961-1963 Randrika Henderson, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Planting an Alternative Newspaper: The Kudzu and Community Building in Mississippi, 1964-1972 - Wayne Dowdy, Independent Scholar
  • Young, Black and Powerful: Student Protests at Ole Miss during the Age of Black Power - Jasmine Stansberry, University of Mississippi

2:45 p.m.              Session 3 Resistance and Memory: Free and Enslaved Laborers in Mississippi

  • ‘Almost in a state of insurrection’: The Slave Rebellion on Mrs. Polk’s Plantation  Lisa C. Childs, University of Arkansas
  • The Global Impact of Mississippi Delta Cotton: The Cotton Pickers’ Monument Project - C. Sade Turnipseed, Jackson State University

3:45 p.m.         Closing Remarks: Marshall Bennett

Introduction of new president Stephanie Rolph