Board Members & Officers

2017 - 2018 OFFICERS

Susannah J. Ural, Hattiesburg, President
Professor of history, University of Southern Mississippi

Page Ogden, Natchez, Vice President
President and CEO, Britton & Koonz Bank

Elbert R. Hilliard, Madison, Secretary-Treasurer
Director emeritus, Mississippi Department of Archives and History

William "Brother" Rogers, Brandon, Immediate Past President
Director of Programs & Communication Division, Mississippi Department of Archives and History


Toby Bates (2017-2020)
Associate Professor of History, Mississippi State University, Meridian
Peggy W. Jeanes (2015-2018)
Founding editor, Mississippi History Now, now editor emerita, Jackson
Marshall Bennett (2016-2019)
Former State Treasurer of Mississippi
Fred Miller, Anguilla (2015-2018)
Chairman of the Board of Directors, Bank of Anguilla, Anguilla
Will Bowlin (2017-2020)
Political Science and History, Northeast Mississippi Community College, Booneville
Otis W. Pickett (2016-2019)
Assistant Professor, History and Political Science, Mississippi College, Clinton
Chad Daniels (2017-2020)
Director, Mississippi Armed Forces Museum, Hattiesburg
Brian Pugh (2016-2019)
Deputy Executive Director, Department of Finance and Administration
Walt Grayson (2017-2018)
Alysia Burton Steele (2016-2019)
Assistant Professor of Journalism, Meek School of Journalism & New Media, University of Mississippi, Oxford
Max Grivno (2015-2018)
Associate Professor of History, University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg
Deanne L. Stephens (2017-2020)
Associate Professor of History and History Pedagogy,​ University of Southern Mississippi
Andrew C. Harper (2015-2018)
Director of the Southern Documentary Project, University of Mississippi, Oxford
Mona Vance-Ali (2016-2019)
Archivist, Columbus-Lowndes Public Library, Columbus
Rolando Herts (2016-2019)
The Delta Center for Culture and Learning and the Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area, Delta State University, Cleveland
Michael Vinson Williams (2015-2018)
Dean of Social Sciences, Tougaloo College, Jackson