B.L.C. Wailes Award

The B.L.C. Wailes Award is awarded as merited to a Mississippian who has achieved national distinction in the field of history.  If merited, the award will be presented at the annual meeting of the Mississippi Historical Society held annually in March.

The B.L.C. Wailes Award, which memorializes the Mississippi Historical Society’s founder and first president, was established to honor native and adopted Mississippians who have achieved national distinction in the field of history. The Wailes Award is the Mississippi Historical Society’s highest honor.  Previous winners include William Ferris, Shelby Foote, Winthrop Jordan, John F. Marszalek, and most recently, Robert S. McElvaine.

Submit a letter and any supporting materials by December 1 to:

Awards Committee
Mississippi Historical Society
P. O. Box 571
Jackson, MS  39205-0571

or email materials to mhs@mdah.ms.gov